The Journey To Excellence - 2013 Baldridge Recipients


I have been appointed for the past five years to the Board of Examiners for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The Award was created by Public Law 100-107 and signed into law on August 20, 1987 by President Reagan - it remains the highest level of national recognition for performance excellence through innovation, improvement and visionary leadership that a U.S. organization can receive. The President of the United States traditionally presents the award.

The 2013 recipients were announced last Wednesday, November 13, by U.S. Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker. Three U.S. organizations will receive this year's Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, All of this year's winners are from the health care and education sectors.

The 2013 Baldrige Award recipients, listed with their category, are:

  • Pewaukee School District, Pewaukee, Wis. (education)
  • Baylor Regional Medical Center at Plano, Plano, Texas (health care)
  • Sutter Davis Hospital, Davis, Calif. (health care)

You can read more about this prestigious award here.

The Baldrige process is an extraordinary journey for organizations who pursue performance excellence. The Award itself recognizes those very few who become role model organizations. Likewise, it has been a transformational experience for me as an examiner, providing remarkable insight into how good organizations become great. If you would like to discuss the Baldrige Award or the application and examination process in more detail, please reach out to me. Also, you can read about the program on the web by visiting: and the Baldrige blog

In closing, Jim Collins, the bestselling author of "Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap...and Others Don't" said this about Baldrige: "I see the Baldrige process as a powerful set of mechanisms for disciplined people engaged in disciplined thought and taking disciplined action to create great organizations that produce exceptional results".