Faculty and staff recognized for excellence

Kelley School of Business faculty and staff members on IUPUI’s campus were honored this year with both university-wide and Kelley School awards.

Elizabeth Malatestinic, senior lecturer in human resource management, and Reed Smith, professor of accounting, both received a Trustees’ Teaching Award. The award is given to faculty who have a positive impact on student learning and demonstrate teaching excellence.

Kim Saxton, clinical professor of marketing, received a Women’s History Month Annual Leadership Award for veteran faculty members. Put on by the IUPUI Office for Women and the Division of Student Affairs, the 21st annual Women’s History Month Leadership Awards reception honored eighteen women-identified faculty, staff and students as outstanding leaders on campus. Staff member Teresa Mackin received an award for newcomer staff.

Faculty teaching in both the graduate and undergraduate programs at the Kelley School of Business also received a number of awards.

Kyle J. Anderson, clinical assistant professor of business economics, received the Lilly Alumni MBA Teaching Excellence Award, the highest faculty award given each year to a professor in the Evening MBA Program.

John Hassell, professor of accounting, received the Graduate Accounting Teaching Excellence Award, presented to the top faculty member in the Graduate Accounting Programs.

Four professors received an Evening MBA Teaching Excellence Award this year:

Amrou Awaysheh, assistant professor of operations management 
Catherine A. Bonser-Neal, associate professor of finance 
Randall Heron, professor of finance 
Samuel Tiras, assistant professor of accounting 

The Schuyler F. Otteson Teaching Excellence Awards are presented by the Kelley Indianapolis Student Government for full-time and part-time faculty members teaching in the Undergraduate Program.

This year’s full-time faculty recipients are:

Elizabeth Malatestinic, senior lecturer in human resource management 
Diane Sturek, lecturer in accounting 
Helen Colby, assistant professor of marketing 

This year’s part-time faculty recipients are:

Treg Hopkins, associate faculty in business communications 
Josh Killey, associate faculty, director of Kelley Indianapolis Career Services  
Lori Tindall, associate faculty in accounting

The 2018 Schuyler F. Otteson Teaching Excellence Award recipients.