Kelley faculty recognized for excellence by Indiana University


Several members of the Kelley School of Business Indianapolis faculty were honored with university-wide awards in April.

Todd Saxton, associate professor of strategy and entrepreneurship and the Indiana Venture Faculty Fellow, received the Chancellor’s Faculty Award for Excellence in Civic Engagement. The award recognizes faculty members who exemplify high standards of civic engagement, professional service and a commitment to community development, with a link to their research.

In his nearly 20 years with the Kelley School, Saxton has used his experience within the entrepreneurial community to educate students and connect them to ventures. He started a class where Evening MBA students join the Venture Club of Indiana, a local education and networking group for entrepreneurs and early stage investors. He also started the DIVE program, which teams IU Kelley Evening MBA students with new ventures to work with founders as part of the leadership team.

“I strongly believe that engagement with the community directly and indirectly benefits all constituents we serve, and it builds my own knowledge and network to more effectively teach and research in the venture arena,” said Saxton. “It is an honor to receive this important award at a place where civic engagement is a part of our core values as an institution. Serving in these many capacities has provided a wonderful journey and yielded immeasurable rewards.”

Professor of Accounting John Hassell received the Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., M.D. Experience Excellence Award. This award recognizes faculty members for service to IUPUI, or a faculty member who goes above and beyond the call of duty. Hassell was hired at IUPUI in 1996. Since that time, he has served on countless committees, as a mentor to other faculty and students, and he has given selflessly of his time to serve IUPUI and the Kelley School.

“I was pleased to receive the Irwin Award. Faculty governance is an essential part of faculty life, and I have enjoyed representing the Kelley School. I have particularly enjoyed my work on the IUPUI Faculty Council, including being on the IUPUI Faculty Council Executive Committee and the Indiana University Faculty Council. That work has provided a much better understanding of the breadth and complexity of IUPUI and the opportunity to serve on various search committees for IU and IUPUI administrators,” said Hassell.

Jim Smith, senior lecturer in finance, and Cathy Bonser-Neal, associate professor of finance, both received the Trustees’ Teaching Award. The award is given to faculty who have a positive impact on learning for their students and demonstrate teaching excellence.

“This award is a real honor, and I’m grateful. But it also says something about all the Kelley Indy faculty. We all pick up new teaching tips and techniques from each other. So to the extent I have done anything worthwhile in the classroom, it’s because I’ve had such good role models. Our faculty is full of really bright people. My colleagues' research is recognized internationally, and they also find effective ways to bring their knowledge into the classroom. I’ve learned from the best,” said Smith.

“I’m honored by the award because I am surrounded by so many excellent Kelley faculty whose hard work and devotion to student learning also deserves recognition,” said Bonser-Neal.

Evening MBA student Shawn Dellinger and management major Jordan Sewell received the William M. Plater Civic Engagement Medallion. Also receiving a Plater Medallion is Sara Hindi, who is pursuing the Business Foundations Certificate. They are three of 51 recipients from 14 different IUPUI schools. The award honors graduating students who’ve shown an exemplary commitment to the community.