Kelley faculty recognized for excellence

Kelley School of Business faculty members on IUPUI’s campus were honored this year with both university-wide and Kelley School awards.

Peggy Daniels Lee, clinical assistant professor of operations and supply chain management and faculty chair of the Undergraduate Program, received the Glenn W. Irwin Jr., M.D. Experience Excellence Award for Faculty. This award recognizes faculty members for service to IUPUI above and beyond the call of duty.

Lee has taught undergraduate and online MBA classes at the Kelley School in Indianapolis since 2009, and she has served as faculty chair of the Undergraduate Program since May 2010. She is actively engaged with students, leading or co-leading multiple case competitions, serving on faculty search committees and multiple advisory councils and committees on the IUPUI campus level, while maintaining involvement at the professional level with the Decision Sciences Institute, the Academy of Management and the Midwest Decision Sciences Institute. Since Lee started her time as faculty chair, the Undergraduate Program has grown, and the number of direct admit students has more than doubled.

“I cannot imagine a faculty member who has done more service ‘above and beyond the call of duty’ than Professor Peggy Lee,” Executive Associate Dean Ken Carow wrote in a recommendation letter. “She has a sincere passion for students, the university and the community and an ability to bring everyone together to create great impact.”

Mark Frohlich, associate professor of operations management, and Mark Ippolito, senior lecturer in operations management, both received a Trustees’ Teaching Award. The award is given to faculty who have a positive impact on student learning and demonstrate teaching excellence. Ippolito has taught at the Kelley School in Indianapolis since 1989. Frohlich has taught at the Kelley School in Indianapolis since 2006.

“Both Mark Ippolito and Mark Frohlich are very active with our students outside the classroom, which is reflected in their outstanding teaching evaluations,” said Carow. “Mark Ippolito coaches and/or co-coaches many of the case competition teams (including the Kelley-Krannert Case Competition that was hosted by Kelley Indianapolis this year), and he serves as the faculty adviser for the Operations and Supply Chain Management Club. Mark is also working with Associate Dean Phil Powell on the new Human Capital Hub Empleo projects.”

“Mark Frohlich has worked to improve the undergraduate supply chain curriculum through the development of a new course, Advanced Manufacturing/Project Management, and he is working with the Indiana Manufacturers Association to create pathways for students with associate degrees to transition to Kelley. In his courses, he has also partnered with the School of Informatics and Computing to include 3D printing in his graduate and undergraduate courses, and through Six Sigma Green Belt projects, he and his students have saved local businesses and nonprofits millions of dollars,” added Carow.

Faculty teaching in the graduate programs at the Kelley School of Business also received a number of awards.

Cathy Bonser-Neal, associate professor of finance, received the Lilly Alumni MBA Teaching Excellence Award, the highest faculty award given each year to a professor in the Evening MBA Program.

James Motter, clinical assistant professor of law and taxation, received the Graduate Accounting Teaching Excellence Award, presented to the top faculty member in the Graduate Accounting Programs.

Five professors received an Evening MBA Teaching Excellence Award this year.

• Kyle Anderson, Clinical Assistant Professor of Business Economics
• Randall Heron, Professor of Finance
• Samuel Tiras, Associate Professor of Accounting
• Kenneth Carow, Executive Associate Dean of Faculty and Research Indianapolis and Professor of Finance
• Cathy Bonser-Neal, Associate Professor of Finance

The Schuyler F. Otteson Teaching Excellence Awards are presented by the Kelley Indianapolis Student Government for full-time and part-time faculty members teaching in the Undergraduate Program.

This year’s full-time faculty recipients are:

Bob Grimm, Clinical Associate Professor of Management
David Farber, Associate Professor of Accounting

This year’s part-time faculty recipients are:

Brenda Bishop
Roger Ortman
Matthew Pranger

For a full list of students who received awards and scholarships this year, click here.

Awards at the Kelley Indianapolis Student Government Leadership Banquet.
David Farber, Associate Professor of Accounting
Part-time faculty member Brenda Bishop.
Part-time faculty member Roger Ortman.
Part-time faculty member Mathew Pranger.
Bob Grimm, Clinical Associate Professor of Management, speaks with a student before the banquet.